top of page

Memoir #1

Generally, it is hard for us to remember clearly about our childhood memories since during those ages our infants and toddlers are not fully developed. However, memories that make people depressed or hurt will be easy to recall. The most miserable memory for me in on October 20, 2009. I was nearly nine years old, that year my father passed away because of liver cancer. I always remember it was around seven o’clock in the evening, and I was in my school playing hide and seek with my friends when I turn around I saw my mother’ s friend and my maid ran into my sight. What I saw on their face, there are only two words that I can describe which is depressed and anxious, unfortunately, it was obvious for me to even I was nine years old that my father only had few minutes left. On the taxi toward the hospital, my mind was totally blank, I keep asking “What’s going on? Is my father in danger?” The lamentable thing was I actually knew what’s the answer but I was looking forward to getting the answer “No”. No one talk, not even a peep. I felt suffocated, and the only thing I remember on the taxi is the sky, it was in a sarcastic bright blue. We ran into the hospital toward the hallway which I had been walking through for months, but the mood was totally different. When I saw the door of my father’s room I was so terrified to face the truth and feeling the doorknob is far far away from me. In that instantaneous moment when I opened the door and called “Daddy!” the electrocardiogram turn into a long beep. All in the sudden, everything felt dead to me, I was alive but with no conscious, I screamed and shrieked for the unfairness of life. I pounded on my mother to release the unbearable emotions. I know my father was struggling with the pain just waiting for me to call him the last time, it was so ironic that while I was sitting hopelessly on the sofa watching those adults busy about the funeral, and I keep remember that I a few days ago on his birthday, I was wearing my new shorts with a red butterfly on it and sitting on his bed. That day was the first time I saw him cried. He used pinky promised that he will soon move back home and take me to the beach because we always enjoy the sunset and letting the wind whistling around us. On the way back home, it was raining outside and tears dropping from my cheek.

In my young adulthood, I could remember a lot of things, even things that are not necessary. When I was in 8th grade, my best friend comes to my house and stay with me because my mother left to work for few weeks. We are so addicted to horror movie but the fun fact is after we watched a horror movie we always get terrified and refused to go to the bathroom alone. Things happened around September 2012, we finished watching two movies one is called 1408 and the other is One missed call but it is a Japanese movie. Between the living room and the kitchen was spiral stair up to the second floor and my bedroom is next to the living room, the time was around 3 o’clock and we wanted to get some drinks in the refrigerator, while we walked to the living room before we turn on any lights, we saw the refrigerator open slowly by itself and the yellow light in the refrigerator bright up a little bit of the kitchen. I was terrified and speechless, we all saw the scene in front of us because it is nonsense about the coincident. First of all, I was clearly remember that I didn't use the refrigerator the whole day so it is certainly closed. Second, we were about 20 meters away from the refrigerator. We stared at the refrigerator for about 10 seconds because we nearly could run, after that we screamed and rushed back to our room. Inside our room we felt safe but I was thinking about whether am I supposed to close the refrigerator otherwise all the food in the refrigerator will rotten and my mother will be mad at me when she knows that I wasted a lot of electricity. It is hilarious to worry about the electricity and the food in that moment because no one will not be scared about it. But in the end, I still encourage myself to walk to the kitchen and closed it, fortunately, nothing happened then. I know this is not the first time that there are weird things in my kitchen, because a few months ago my teacher brought her dog to our house and left me and the dog alone in the house, while I was watching TV in the living room, suddenly it barked multiple times with it’s tailed down toward the kitchen, but nothing was there. I don’t really believe in supernatural before but after I experience few weird things I actually believe that there might be parallel space. The reason that this memory came out from my mind because I moved to an old apartment recently which somehow at night it does frighten me these days.

I always dreamed to be a successful person and using my abilities to help people around us, since the world is gradually changing into. When I become a senior in Parsons, I want to start working in different kinds of fashion companies, although it will be tough and tired I loved to design. During my leisure time from now, I want to draw and paint a lot of artworks which I could sell them or held exhibitions after I get money from those artworks half of them will directly donate to people who need help around the world and the other half will be my venture funds. Working in a fashion company is not my dream, but the reason I want to work there is to gain knowledge and experiences from real-life, which could accumulate basis about fashion business for me. After I graduated and having enough resources, I want to start up a business with my friends who are also experts in fashion. The fashion business that I want to run at isn't like other premium brands that sell expensive clothes, but what I want is a brand that could encourage people to wear whatever they want, and make the clothes be able to customize. As I said, I also want to help people, a lot of people in poverty don't even have enough clothes, which make a lot of them suffered in rain and winter time. One of my concept of my business is to collect clothes that people don’t want to wear it anymore, we sterilized and wash them, after those process, we can reuse them and make into new clothes. This idea not only reduced a lot of waste but also could help poverty to get through difficult weather. Furthermore, after the business is stabilized, I want to have a complete family that people who I loved lived together, also I want to let my mother have a comfortable life and give her what she wants, to thank her for what she gave and help me, after all, caring me up alone by herself is not that easy. Moreover, I’m not the person that desires a wealthy life that has billions of property, what I desire is a life with happiness and different kind of surprise, the most important are making my life meaningful and all my family to be healthy.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Why should I know about human

Why should I know about human? It isn’t because I am a anthropologist or going to be one. It is because I am a human. We all are. We are social animals which depend on cohesion and propagation to keep

Memories of my childhood

Remember to wake up early in the morning on Monday and take all of your homework to school because it is going to be hard to wake up after weekends; take your violin class on Tuesday and remember to p

bottom of page