top of page

Memori #2


It was fall when the photo was taken in a photo studio back in my home town Hunan. That’s my grandmother on the left, who is wearing clothes that made by herself. Sometimes I do wish that I could meet her and have memories about her even it is piecemeal. But what I only remember is this faded photo graph, hazy but conceal with lots of stories. She was 20 years old then, but an ambitious and selfless woman, not for her dream but for her family. My mom told me that I look like her… her nose, her eyes, her cheeks…even her personality, maybe is because of the genes that flowing in my blood and cells, straightly without any hesitate, after all, she is my grandma, or maybe somehow we are connected even she only held me in her hand when I was one. I wish that she can tell me her life like other family do, I wish she could teach me how to sew like she did, I wish she could tell me how hilarious and naughty that my mom was when she was a child, I wish that she can smile at me like the one in the photo, kind and amiable, I wish she could teach me how to cook… since my mother doesn't know how to do those. I don’t only want to inherit her but what I want is to know and carry on her attitude toward life.


July 24, 1996, two years before I was born. It was a photo that was taken on the day when my parents got their marriage certificate. Maybe it is not the credential that attracts me, but the coincident combination between two people, and when that I acknowledge about going to exist in this world. She was 31 and he was 53, but 22 years old younger doesn’t impede any difference of love. What is important to them is how they go through a vigorous love relationship. I haven’t heard a lot of stories about how they love each other, I haven't heard a lot about how they trust and believe they are match made in heaven, I haven’t heard a lot of love prattle that my father said to my mother, I haven’t known any details about their marriage before I was born…

This this is the certificate that what is a family to me and this is the certificate that makes as a permanent bonding between all of us. It was a start of a new life and a sweet burden was made until the day my father left without saying goodbye to the world and to me. Although memories are faded away into some parts in my deep memory I will not forget they are the one that creates me and love me with all their hearts.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Why should I know about human

Why should I know about human? It isn’t because I am a anthropologist or going to be one. It is because I am a human. We all are. We are social animals which depend on cohesion and propagation to keep

Memoir #1

Generally, it is hard for us to remember clearly about our childhood memories since during those ages our infants and toddlers are not fully developed. However, memories that make people depressed or

Memories of my childhood

Remember to wake up early in the morning on Monday and take all of your homework to school because it is going to be hard to wake up after weekends; take your violin class on Tuesday and remember to p

bottom of page